#KELTChat Preview: Task Based Learning in Korea – Sunday 25th November, 8pm

Hi everyone,

Introduction

This weeks poll resulted in a crushing victory for the topic of task-based learning. This is not entirely a surprise given that there has been some chat surrounding this on our Facebook group recently.

Background

For those of you who are new to the concept of task-based learning, here’s a Wikilink which outlines some of the definitions and issues. If you want to dig a little bit deeper, I would suggest these two articles which examine the concept of a task, and the influence that TBL has had on ELT publishing. Finally, should you wish to go the whole hog, here’s Dr. Andrew Finch’s evaluation of the task based learning program that was designed and implemented (and afaik is still being used) at Andong university.

Things to think about

This being #KELTChat, we’re happy for the discussion to take whatever form that it may. However, here are some things might come up in the chat if you wish to do some thinking beforehand.

  • Have you ever tried TBL? Was it successful? Why?
  • Why isn’t TBL more popular in Korea, especially in universities?
  • What are some of the barriers to implementing TBL?
  • If TBL’s focus is on task completion, how do we evaluate it?
  • How can teachers design their own tasks effectively?
  • What is the role of the teacher during the task?
  • How might we get administrations to be more accepting of TBL?

If you have any other questions, opinions or musings outside of these areas, please do feel free to mention them in the chat. I hope to see you all on Sunday at 8pm.

If you’re new to Twitter chatting and aren’t sure quite how it works, check out this handy guide. If you have no idea what #KELTChat is, have a look here or here. You can also contact us through Twitter (@breathyvowel, @JosetteLB, @michaelegriffin, @alexswalsh, @annehendler, @johnpfordresher) or on our Facebook page.

Cheers

Alex G (@breathyvowel)

3 thoughts on “#KELTChat Preview: Task Based Learning in Korea – Sunday 25th November, 8pm

  1. I regularly use the textbook ” Tell Me More” by Andrew Finch. I discovered his material when I was asked to teach a group of advanced students using dictation. At the time I had no idea what I should do so I went into the TESL journal. When I first saw the material I wasn’t that impressed my first inclination was there is no way this material would ever work with Korean students. The material in questions was a paragraph that should be copied via Peer dictation. It had a photo of a Korean family and quite a long and difficult passage that the students should dicatate to each other. I kept a copy of it thinking that it fit the idea of being a dictation activity and I would use it as back up if any of my other activities tanked. When I started teaching the group of students I was contronted with the usual shy tired timid students. I showed a Powerpoint with humourous photo’s that was supposed to stimulate the students curiosity. This was met with complete indifference and apathy. This led me to decide to call an early ten minute break so I could paste the paragraphs to the wall. When I finally got the students to do the activity I was pleasently surprised all the students participated It generated that Buzz of activity plus the idea that the students where actually enjoying the activity. These days Andrews material is a regular fixture in my classes I particularly like substitution games that follow a bingo format using second conditionals. If I go to China I will become a monk and I will eat no meat. I work with Korean co-teachers and lots of them start looking pretty shellshocked at the sheer amount of noise generated by his material however none of them have ever suggested I discontinue such activities.

  2. Hi James,

    I’ve never actually seen a copy of the books he wrote, but I would definitely like to. The thesis linked to above is really inspiring in what it sets out to do, and it sounds like the kind of professional environment in which I’d like to work. You’re certainly not the first person to recommend it.

    Thanks very much for stopping by and commenting. Maybe you’d consider joining us for one of the chats when we start again in March?

    Alex

Leave a Reply

